Full line-up of Birmingham 2022 presenters, from Gabby Logan to Chris Hoy

A stellar and familiar cast of sporting small-screen stalwarts will guide the nation through BBC’s TV coverage of the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The multi-sport event will take over the BBC for 12 days with more than 200 hours of linear coverage on BBC One, Two and Three.

On the average day BBC One will only leave the Games for 90 minutes between the hours of 9.15am and 10pm.

Final Score presenter Jason Mohammad will take the morning slot at his fourth Commonwealth Games.

More on Commonwealth Games 2022

Hazel Irvine’s comforting tones will see you through the afternoons with Clare Balding taking the coveted primetime evening role.

Fresh from a month as lead anchor on BBC’s coverage of Euro 2022 that saw her miss the World Athletics Championships, Gabby Logan will return as lead track and field presenter.

Clare Balding hosts the evening coverage (Photo: PA)

Isa Guha, who excelled at her first Wimbledon for the corporation, will co-host evening highlights alongside Strictly star JJ Chalmers.

Holly Hamilton, a familiar face on BBC Breakfast, will join morning programmes and former Blue Peter presenter Ayo Akinwolere will be a constant presence.

BBC Commonwealth Games presenters

  • Hazel Irvine
  • Clare Balding
  • Gabby Logan
  • Jason Mohammad
  • Holly Hamilton
  • Ayo Akinwolere
  • JJ Chalmers
  • Isa Guha

There are plenty of eye-catching names and personalities in the BBC’s extensive stable of pundits.

They are headed by star gymnast Max Whitlock, who was touted as one of the stars of these Games but will focus instead on October’s World Championships in Liverpool.

The three-time Olympic champion, father to Willow, three, will offer his experience to BBC viewers of dealing with the pressure of a home Games having won bronze at London 2012.

He will be joined by para-swimmer Ellie Simmonds, who retired from Paralympic competition after Tokyo 2020, with disability sport once again taking centre stage at the Games.

BBC Commonwealth Games pundits


  • Michael Johnson
  • Denise Lewis
  • Jess Ennis-Hill
  • Colin Jackson
  • Steve Cram
  • Tanni Grey-Thompson
  • Steve Backley
  • Paula Radcliffe


  • Max Whitlock (gymnastics)
  • Beth Tweddle (gymnastics)
  • Sir Chris Hoy (cycling)
  • Rebecca Adlington (swimming)
  • Ellie Simmonds (swimming)
  • Mark Foster (swimming)
  • Ama Agbeze (netball)

BBC commentary team

  • Gymnastics: Matt Baker, Craig Heap and Christine Still
  • Field events: Steve Backley
  • Track events: Steve Cram

Six-time Olympic champion Sir Chris Hoy will take a leading role in cycling coverage as he has at previous Games.

Athletics legends Michael Johnson, Tanni-Grey Thompson, Denise Lewis, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Colin Jackson and Paula Radcliffe will reprise punditry roles for BBC.

Beth Tweddle will give her take on the gymnastics action with Rebecca Adlington and Mark Foster leading on events in the swimming pool.

Ama Agbeze, who helped England win their maiden netball gold in 2018, will give her view as the Roses attempt to defend their title on home soil.

National Lottery players raise more than £30million a week for good causes including vital funding into sport – from grassroots to elite. Find out how your numbers make amazing happen at: www.lotterygoodcauses.org.uk and get involved by using the hashtag: #TNLAthletes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *