The 10 Best Books To Read If You Love The Series

While The Vampire Diaries franchise still survives on television with its spinoff, Legacies, the books do tend to scratch a different kind of itch. Although the L.J. Smith book series and TV series, no doubt, have many differences, in the end, they have the same story of love, betrayal, blood and, of course, vampires.

RELATED: 10 Differences Between Elena In The Vampire Diaries Books & The Show

There are many options these days when it comes to vampiric fiction, but not all of them can also satisfy the craving for the sweetness of teen romance and the melodrama of combating species in the same way that TVD does. That being said, there are a few novels worth noting that will help TVD lovers get their fix.


10 Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead

Two side by side images of Vampire Academy books

Vampire Academy, written by Richelle Mead, has very different vampire lore than TVD, however, the romance and plot twists in this series will easily make any fan feel immersed in its supernatural fact or fiction.

RELATED: Vampire Academy’s 10 Missed Opportunities From The Books

Even though the film adaptation of Vampire Academy didn’t do the best when it hit theaters in 2014, the series, as a whole, is action-packed, and the romance between Rose and her trainer, Dimitri, is incredibly steamy. The best thing about this series is that it does a great job at world-building and has a whole prophecy element that adds to the stakes of the story.

9 The Mortal Instruments Series – Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments, written by Cassandra Clare, introduces a world of magical beings that are safeguarded by half-human half-angel hybrids called Shadowhunters, who use runes to give themselves certain otherworldly abilities.

This six-book series follows Clary Fairchild as she realizes she is the daughter of Valentine, an evil Shadowhunter who wants to steal the mortal cup to make an army of Nephilim that will destroy all of the Shadow World. While not strictly about vampires, vampire politics are extremely relevant to the series as a whole and this story contains tons of forbidden love for readers to enjoy. Not to mention, this series has both a film and TV adaptation.

SCREENRANT VIDEO OF THE DAY

8 Fallen – Lauren Kate

Collage of Fallen novels by Lauren Kate

Fallen, while not about vampires at all, has a controversial love triangle reminiscent of Elena, Damon and Stephan and a main character with a mysterious past that not even she remembers.

This story follows Lucinda Price, a girl who is shipped off to boarding school by her parents and, while there, she instantly falls in love with Daniel Grigori, who tries to avoid her at all costs. The amount of mystery in this story makes for good reading and the ending is super satisfying as it answers so many questions about the main characters and their immortal curse as fallen angels.

7 Interview With The Vampire – Anne Rice

Anne Rice’s classic novel Interview with the Vampire, and its subsequent movie, embrace what it means to be a vampire as they show how lonely and unchanging everything feels as an immortal.

While this series doesn’t center on teen love or feuding species, it examines the reality of what it’s like to live forever, but as an outcast. Rice’s prose is beautifully dark, making this the perfect read for someone who wants to sympathize with an authentic feeling vampire and feel immersed in a different time.

6 Marked – P.C. & Kristin Cast

Two side by side images from the Marked book series

Marked, by P.C. and Kirstin Cast, is a story about Zoey Redbird, who has to leave her normal life behind in order to learn to survive her transition from fledging to adult vampyre.

This series, at its core, is a coming-of-age story about a girl trying to find her place in the world, albeit a strange world filled with blood-sucking creatures with powers. This story has tons of conflict and moments of high drama, which resemble some of the moments in TVD, as a whole.

5 Secret Circle – L.J. Smith

Secret Circle book series

The Secret Circle, which is also written by L.J. Smith, is about a witch coven in New Salem and the consequences of using magic.

RELATED: The Secret Circle’s 5 Best (& 5 Worst) Parts Of The Show

This story, which was also adapted as a TV show for a single season, follows Cassie Blake as she finds out she is a witch and learns that magic attracts dark forces. This series is the optimal read for Bonnie lovers who just want to see more witch-related drama that isn’t as dark as something like The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

4 Evernight – Claudia Gray

Two side by side images of the Evernight book series

Evernight, written by Claudia Gray, is about a gothic-looking boarding school with a mysterious student body who are all thin, pale and tall.

This four-book series follows Bianca, a new student, who meets Lucas, another outcast. Overall, these books have tons of romance and they are perfect for someone who wants to read about a couple who are destined for each other, even if life makes it difficult for them to truly be together.

3 The Coldest Girl In Coldtown – Holly Black

The Coldest Girl in Cold Town front and back cover

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, written by Holly Black, is a novel with a fascinating apocalyptic world that focuses more on the drive of the protagonist than it does on the actual vampires in the story.

The book follows Tana, who goes to a party one night and wakes up in a Coldtown, a place where monster and humans live unharmoniously. Tana is a cool female lead that can fend for herself as she fights to survive and find out what happened to her. She is fun to root for and the book is an original take on a vampire story.

2 Southern Vampire Mysteries – Charlaine Harris

The spines of the Southern Vampire Mysteries book series

The Southern Vampire Mysteries, written by Charlaine Harris, are about a world in which everyone knows that vampires exist, while shapeshifters, werewolves, fairies and many other species remain hidden.

More commonly called The Sookie Stackhouse Novels, these books follow Sookie Stackhouse, a mind reader who falls in love with the first vampire she meets, Bill Compton, who is much different in the books. This 13 book series is the same one on which True Blood is based, making it an ideal read for anyone looking for something less PG-13.

1 Daughter Of Smoke And Bone – Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and Bone book series

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor,  is the perfect read for someone who is more into the dark magic and witches in The Vampire Diaries.

This trilogy follows Karou, an art student living in Prague who lives with magical animal hybrids called Chimera, who are fighting a war in another realm against angels. These books feature forbidden love and warring species and they are original with their world-building and use of magic.

NEXT: 10 Major Differences in The Vampire Diaries Between The Books & The TV Show

split image of popular period dramas


Next
Which Period Drama Are You, Based On Your Zodiac Sign?


Leave a Comment

Advertise