When is Ballon d’Or 2021? Which City players are nominated?

Manchester City have six players in contention for the 2021 Ballon d’Or awards, which are set to return after a two-year hiatus.

Men’s team

When is Ballon d’Or 2021? Which City players are nominated?

After last season’s ceremony was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the prestigious annual event is back in the football calendar and the winners of the men’s and women’s prizes will be revealed later this month.

City have five men’s representatives in the men’s category, while one player has been nominated for the women’s trophy.

Here is everything you need to know prior to the ceremony.

When will the Ballon d’Or 2021 be awarded?

The presentation will take place in Paris on Monday 29 November.

Which City players have been nominated for the men’s award?

Phil Foden, Kevin De Bruyne, Ruben Dias, Riyad Mahrez and Raheem Sterling have all been named on the 30-man shortlist, and our five nominations mean we are on par with Chelsea as the best represented club.

Full list of nominees: Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Jorginho (Chelsea), Harry Kane (Tottenham), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Simon Kjaer (AC Milan), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan), Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain) – Germain), Germain), Pedri (Barcelona), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid).

Which City players have been nominated for the Women’s Award?

Ellen White is the only City player to be shortlisted in the women’s category. She is one of 20 players vying for the prize.

Full list of nominees: Kadidiatou Diani (PSG), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona), Christiane Endler (Lyon), Christine Sinclair (Thorns FC), Ashley Lawrence (PSG), Irene Paredes (PSG, Barcelona), Jessie Fleming (Chelsea) ))), Lieke Martens (Barcelona), Sandra Panos (Barcelona), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), Ellen White (Manchester City), Pernille Harder (Chelsea), Sam Mewis (North Carolina Courage), Wendie Renard (Lyon), Marie – Antoinette Katoto (PSG), Stina Blackstenius (Hacken), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea), Sam Kerr (Chelsea), Alexia Putellas (Barcelona).

What other awards will be unveiled at the Ballon d’Or ceremony?

The Yashin Trophy, which honors the best goalkeeper of the last 12 months, will also be awarded on the evening.

Ederson has been included in the 10-man list for the award, named in honor of the legendary Russian goalkeeper, Lev Yashin.

The winner will be selected by previous Ballon d’Or winners.

Full list of nominees: Gianliuigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), Ederson (Manchester City) Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa), Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid) and Samir Handanovic (Inter Milan).


How is the winner of the Ballon d’Or decided?

The Ballon d’Or is awarded by France Football magazine, whose editorial staff has compiled the initial shortlists.

The winners of both men’s and women’s awards are decided by a vote between leaders and captains of international teams as well as journalists from around the world.

How can I see the ceremony?

You will be able to watch the ceremony on L’Equipe’s YouTube channel.

Over the next seven days, we’ll remind you of our player’s performance over the last 12 months with a number of features here on mancity.com and the official app.


Leave a Comment